Floating Points announces new album ‘Crush’ on Ninja Tune

4 years on from his debut album Elaenia, and 2 years on from the conceptual project Reflections – Mojave Desert, Floating Points, real name Sam Shephard, is readying a new LP due for release on seminal British label Ninja Tune.

With an approach aimed more at the dance floor, new album Crush was engineered over a 5 week period, taking inspiration from Shephard’s improvisations on tour supporting The XX in 2017. Playing solo over the years with a Buchla synthesiser Shephard claims these improvisations would set out to be ‘melodic and slow-building’, however turned into “some of the most obtuse and aggressive music I’ve ever made”.

Along with the album announcement, Shephard has also announced a new live AV show alongside previous collaborators Hamill Industries who will, once again, provide their “reactive laser technologies”. The tour comes to London’s Printworks on Thursday 21st November 2019.

You can stream latest single ‘Last Bloom’ below.

01. Falaise
02. Last Bloom
03. Anasickmodular
04. Requiem For CS70 And Strings
05. Karakul
06. LesAlpx
07. Bias
08. Environments
09. Birth
10. Sea-Watch
11. Apoptose Pt1
12. Apoptose Pt2

Crush releases 18th October 2019 via Ninja Tune.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!