Actress To Mix ‘DJ-Kicks’

Darren Cunningham is next up for !K7’s celebrated series.

Started 20 years ago, ‘DJ-Kicks’ has enjoyed one of the most prestigious runs in electronic music – with classic volumes from the likes of Nightmares On Wax, Motor City Drum Ensemble, Four Tet and more over the year. Lining up for the second volume of 2015 is Werkdiscs boss and all round envelope pusher Actress. After a 2014 in which he released fourth album, ‘Ghettoville’, re-released his classic ‘Hazyville’ LP, dropped a limited edition track in the form of ‘Xoul’, the ‘DJ-Kicks’ mix will constitute his first movements of the new year.

Describing his approach to the mix – which is out in the UK 4th May, Cunningham explains:“When I’m selecting music I’m not always thinking about the music alone. I’m thinking about the names of the artists, tracks, and labels, and what they mean to me. I often base my tracklisting purely on how well the track titles work together in a poetic sense.” “I’ve tried to keep space between tracks, allowing them to speak,” he continues. Accordingly, his mix features the likes of Warp legends Autechre rubbing shoulders with eyes down explorer Beneath, Hamburg Dub Techno savant STL and Deep House legends Ron Trent and Chez Damier.

Also appearing is ‘Bird Matrix’ – a brand new cut from Cunningham himself, which he describes as being made in the period following ‘Ghettoville”s release. “My studio was going through a transition, so I was testing all the equipment, and that was one of the first tunes that came out of those experiments”. Check out the artwork and the tracklist below.

Actress DJ Kicks


01 Breaker 1 2 – 2

02 Lorenzo Senni – Elegant, and Never Tiring

03 Reel by Real – Look At Me

04 Autechre – Pen Expers

05 Chameleon – Thought 2

06 Beneath – Stress 1

07 Simbiosi – Impari

08 Zennor – Tin

09 John Beltran – Anticipation

10 Moon B – Those Moments

11 STL – Psychelicious

12 Snakepiss – Toil

13 Shit and Shine – Pearl Drop

14 Chez n Trent – Windy City Club

15 Mark Fell – Section 1-7

16 GNESIS – Pear

17 Shxcxchcxsh – LDWGWTT

18 Hank Jackson – Track 3

19 Actress – Bird Matrix (DJ-Kicks)

20 Gherkin Jerks – Red Planet


A1 Lorenzo Senni – Elegant, and Never Tiring

A2 Reel by Real – Look At Me

A3 Simbiosi – Impari

B1 John Beltran – Anticipation

B2 Shit and Shine – Pearl Drop

C1 Chez n Trent – Windy City Club

C2 Mark Fell – Section 1-7

D1 Actress – Bird Matrix (DJ-Kicks)

D2 Gherkin Jerks – Red Planet

‘DJ-Kicks’ is out 4th May on !K7. 

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!