Hyp 399: Up High Collective

Hyp 399: Up High Collective

Crooked beats and live machine experiments.

Audio-visual live bass crew Up High Collective sit somewhere between the worlds of future soul and electronica.

Responsible for curating the output of Belgian imprint Tangram Records, the group made of musicians and visual artists Oddlaner, Ducap and Sir-5 have previously released on Brownswood and On Point Records, as well as a series of EPs on their own label that date back to 2012.

With heavy support from soul explorers like Gilles Peterson, Lefto, Kutmah, Anthony Valadez and Alexander Nut, their last release came as a crossover of minimalist hip-hop beats with a dark techno undertone, working as a collaborative EP with French producer Vorace for London’s 20/20 imprint. As we welcome them to our mix series, they share a wealth of the material recorded during their 3 day session. Check out their words and the mix below.

“In spirit of our recent release Binomium, the collab EP with French producer Vorace, this mixtape came to life. It contains almost all the ideas and beats made during the 3 day recording session of which this latest EP Binomium was extracted. So everything your hear in this mix was made by an organised spontaneous jam of Up High x Vorace, except for a few. As a result, 90% of this mix is either untitled, unreleased and exclusive. We hope you enjoy the mix and get a taste of being inside our studio.”


1 – Intro skit untitled
2 – Untitled beat2
3 – Untitled beat9
4 – Untitled beat10
5 – Vorace – unreleased
6 – Untitled beat11
7 – Up High Collective -unreleased
8 – Up High x Vorace – Binomium
9 – Skit5 untitled
10 – Skit6 untitled
11 – Up High x Vorace – Helophïo’s Hunt
12 – Untitled beat16
13 – Untitled beat 13
14 – Vorace – unreleased
15 – Untitled beat21
16 – Untitled beat12
17 – Untitled beat19
18 – Untitled beat7
19 – Up High Collective -unreleased
20 – Untitled beat15
21 – Untitled beat18
22 – Untitled beat17
23 – Outro skit untitled

Keep up to date with Up High Collective on Facebook, Twitter and SoundCloud

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!