Hyp 300: Lexis (Music Is My Sanctuary)

Hyp 300: Lexis (Music Is My Sanctuary)

A pillar of the Montreal music scene for the past 15 years, Lexis is the founder of the highly influential online platform Music Is My Sanctuary. Trusted as one of the most reliable sources for musical discovery, Lexis is an equally incredibly versatile selector known for discovering future classics and unearthing forgotten treasures.

Also running 24 Hours Of Vinyl, the worldwide non-profit vinyl event which has travelled to cities across the globe, Lexis was recently called upon to give the first ever TED talk on record digging culture. His drive to share his passion has led him to share stages with some of the most prominent figures across various scenes, whilst his monthly radio show was voted in Mixcloud’s top ten of the last three years.

As our Hyp mix series hits 300 we invite Lexis to take the reigns, offering a two-hour special of broken beat flavours that he’s collected from the genre’s recent resurgence. With weapons from Kaidi Tatham, Henry Wu, Jay Daniel and Seiji, Lexis had a few words on the inspiration behind the mix, check below.

“Broken Beat has been making a strong comeback these past years so I wanted to put a mix together that highlights some of my favourite tracks from the last few years. As a huge fan of those classic late 90’s early 2000’s productions, it’s been fantastic to see the comeback of that sound come from some of the OG’s as well as some new talents too. Big up to all the producers bringing the Bruk back!”


Kaidi Tatham – Treacle Manifestions
Igor Jadranin – Middle Proves (Ashley Beedle Mix)
Lay-Far – Jump Higher (feat. Mark De Clive-Lowe)
Henry Wu – Substance (IG Culture & Alex Phountzi Remix)
EVM 128 – Warm ‘n’ Easy ft Oliver Night
Pete Josef – The Travelling Song (Mark de Clive-Lowe Remix)
Tatham,Mensah,Lord & Ranks – Cascade
Lordamercy – A New Guitar New Mars
Kaytronik – I Say
Karizma – Church Chords
Domu & Volcov – Souljah (NameBrandSound refit)
Sonars Ghost X NameBrandSound – B.A.N.G
Kyle Hall – Damn! I’m Feeln Real Close
Nu Era – Heartstrings
Jay Daniel – Knowledge Of Selfie
Henry Wu – Deep In Mudd ft Banton
Mark de Clive – Lowe Now or Never (Opolopo Remix)
Hiatus Kaiyote – By Fire (Vikter Duplaix Remix)
Sterling Styles – Bye Bye
J.Mcfysian – For You (K15 Remix)
Shokazulu – Fresh Fromage
BB Boogie – Sweating & Shaking feat. Monica Blaire
Tatham,Mensah,Lord & Ranks – No Facetime (errors)
Wu15 – The Anthem (Simbad KungFu Funk RMX)
Jeen Bassa – Time Waves
K15 – Look (Beyond You)
Duke Hugh – Broken Samba
Domu – Decisions
Seiji – Vune
Cengiz – Soul Child
Alxndr London – Harrison (Entek Bruk Refix)
Dego & Kaidi – Orbiting Uhura
Moonstarr – Highs and Lows

Keep up to date with Lexis via Music Is My Sanctuary’s Facebook, Twitter & Soundcloud

Featured Image: Bruno Destombes

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!