Hyp 222: Raw M.T.

Hyp 222: Raw M.T.

At once both off kilter and naggingly familiar, Raw M.T’s self titled debut for Wicked Bass back in 2013 ticked all kinds of boxes when we first heard it. Like Huerco S before him – who also made his bow for the Ukranian imprint, the Venetian producer seemed to look at the dancefloor through a fug of distortion and reverb, an approach which lends his work a strangely exotic quality. A subsequent EP laden with yet more enigmatically built heaters for Lobster Theremin’s Mörk sub label only heightened our intrigue towards him – with little in the way of biographical information available to demystify him. Another EP for Wicked Bass and further material for Lobster Theremin will be released over the coming months.

Set to make his debut on these shores atop the bill for comm•une at Dance Tunnel this Friday 24th April alongside Glaswegian selector Denis Sulta and Lobster Theremin boss Asquith, we managed to get Raw M.T. on Hyp Mix duty. There’s a visceral quality to Hyp 222 that finds the producer living up to his production moniker (which is Raw Music Theory in full), although perhaps more interestingly he also takes plenty of sojourns into the most esoteric fringes of House and Techno – often with thrilling results. A tightly woven set out that isn’t afraid to take risks, it showcases an exciting degree of imagination and ambition.

Hyp 222: RAW M.T. by Hyponik on Mixcloud

01. Scott Young – M.O.E.I.
02. No Gold – Expansive Pac
03. KWC 92 – Dreaming Of You
04. Hüpnosaurus – Intro/3 Lo Biit
05. Senyawa – Hujan
06. Japa Habilidoso – Funk Do Sindicalismo
07. Hieroglyphic Being And The Configurative Or Modular Me Trio – 134340 Pluto
08. Dj Sotofett & Jaakko Eino Kalevi – Ibiza Dub
09. Pg Sounds – Untitled Ron Trent – Manifesto
10. Theo Parrish – Sawala Sayale
11. Dj Sotofett & Madteo – There’s Gotta Be A Way (Underground Mix)
12. Theo Parrish – Insane Asylum
13. Next Evidence – Sands Of Time
14. Club No-No & SVN – Untitled
15. Soichi Terada – Low Tension
16. Bell Towers – I’m Obsessed With You
17. Don Papa – Done (Piano) Bass Vocal Mix
18. Denaji – Wuhti

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!