Hyp 176: Throwing Shade

Hyp 176: Throwing Shade

London born DJ, Producer, Radio Host & Barrister, Nabihah lqbal’s (aka Throwing Shade) life is in constant orbit around music. With an affinity for space-age R&B, icy melodies, fluffy synths and deep basslines, her approach to music production at this point is very much forward-facing, but it’s not all about modern sonics for this young producer. Having studied Ethnomusicology at university, her show on NTS Radio is a place for her to showcase her far flung and eclectic tastes, taking in anything from rare Siberian phonograph field recordings and polyphonies of Central African Pygmies, through to Soviet Disco and recordings of insects. She plays music from all parts of the globe and across the ages, presented in an informative and individual way, giving cultural insights into a wealth of artists with each broadcast. Really interesting to note the considerable contrast in her output as a radio DJ and maker of music.

Her debut release ‘Mystic Places/Lights’ being picked up by Kassem Mosse for his Ominira imprint is proof that as a producer she has buckets of potential, and with her brilliant next release ’19 Jewels’ EP coming out on No Pain In Pop next month she is set to solidify a bright future as an artist.

Hyp 176 is an evocative blend of Funk, Dub, Lover’s Rock and free flowing Jazz sketches from artists including Grover Washington Jr, Freddie Hubbard, Lonnie Liston Smith, Carroll Thompson, finishing off with some Dub pressure from Lee Scratch Perry for good measure…

Stream and download the mix below

Throwing Shade’s latest release ’19 Jewels’ EP comes out on UK imprint No Pain In Pop on May 19th, you can preview one of the tracks and pre-order the release here.

Photography: Nina Manandhar
Connect with Throwing Shade on Facebook and Twitter.

1. First Light – Freddie Hubbard
2. Love Goddess – Lonnie Liston Smith
3. Basshoven – Motion
4. Daughter Of The Night – Richie Havens
5. Daddy Bug – Roy Ayers
6. I’m So Sorry – Carroll Thompson
7. A Secret Place – Grover Washington Jr.
8. Afrodisia – Kenny Dorham
9. Walk In The Night – Grant Green
10. Wind Up Doll – Lee Scratch Perry

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!