Hyp 175: Greymatter

Hyp 175: Greymatter

Graham Luckhurst, aka Greymatter is one of the core producers of Wolf Music alongside Medlar and KRL. With a love for deep cuts, booming sonics and an amalgamation of influences that incorporates everything from Jazz and World, Garage to Hip Hop, Luckhurst has developed progressive production and Dj-ing style’s that are uniquely his own. With a list of collaborative remixes the length of your arm, his experience as a producer is not to be overlooked and describing his output as prolific would be an understatement. Greymatter’s sound is fine-tuned for cutting edge sound-systems and modern clubbing ears.

His Sophomore LP, ‘Visions’, contains 12 tracks of glossy upbeat material which seamlessly bridges the gap between Disco and House, filtering out the junk to leave us with something substantial. A natural progression from 2009’s ‘Mind Over Matter’ LP on Unique Uncut Records, It captures perfectly the essence of what Wolf Music is today and stands to show why this particular sound has become so ubiquitous in recent years. Some of the tracks on ‘Visions’ are destined to become soundtrack to many a beach party this impending Summer.

In preperation for the release he has provided us with Hyp 175, a bumping selection of deep and jazzy House grooves to lift you from that hazy post bank-holiday grey-zone. Featuring two jazzy numbers from Max Graef, a refreshing step out of the spotlight from Breach, a full-blooded cut from Kassem Mosse’s latest Workshop EP on top of tracks from My Panda Shall Fly, Leon Vynehall, Ossie, Gerry Read and more, this will have you back on your feet and spiralling towards the dance-floor once again…

‘Visions’ is out on Wolf Music on the 12th of May, the album launch party takes place in Brixton, London this Friday with Greymatter, Rick Wilhite, Medlar and more. For tickets, line-up and more see here.

Artwork : Orla Lyons

Stream and Download the mix below


01. Greymatter – Intermission
02. Max Graef – Itzehoe
03. Breach – Ode Oshi
04. Kassem Mosse – Untitled A2
05. Dorsia – Ghana (Original Mix)
06. Thrilogy – Arctic
07. Cuthead – Minerals
08. My Panda Shall Fly – Chinchilla
09. Gerry Read – Shrubby (Redshape’s Disco Scope Mix)
10. Max Graef – Drums Of Death
11. Ghosts On Tape – No Guestlist (Arttu Remix)
12. Leon Vynehall – Pier Children
13. Ossie – Forever

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!