Hyp 174.3: Principals (Bradley Zero)

Hyp 174.3: Principals (Bradley Zero)

The third and final part of our Principals series of Hyp mixes this week arrives today from Bradley ‘ Zero’ Philips. Like his friends before him, Charles Drakeford & Nic Tasker, (who provided this week’s previous mixes) Bradley is another incarnation of the musical multi-tasker, co-running the Principals party with the boys, he also hosts a show on NTS Radio, curates for 22 Tracks and has accrued considerable notoriety as the dreadlocked host of countless Boiler Room broadcasts from around the globe.

Although he’s one of the most recognisable faces in a London music scene that thrives on new media and digital technology, Bradley couldn’t be more respectful of the culture of the music that he loves. This respect can be best observed by paying a visit to Rhythm Section, Bradley’s twice month shindig down at Canavan’s pool hall in Peckham. Devoid of any frills whatsoever, this is a night genuinely focused on the music-with a ban on ‘dancefloor photography’ and all vinyl mission statement two of the core tenets of this increasingly popular dance. After two successful years, its recently been announced that the party will be expanded into a record label, with recent Hyp mix contributor Al Dobson Jr set to be the first signing.

With Record Store Day tomorrow, its apt that Hyp 174.3 is a homage to the delights of vinyl. Bradley’s wide ranging tastes mean we get treated to dusty, obscure funk, Turkish Psych, cheesy but brilliant Disco and expensively rare House alongside some new vibrations from the underground. Head here read Bradley’s words on 7 of the gems that make up this killer selection.

Stream and download below

01. Retiree – Together (Plastic World)
02. Al Dobson Jr. – Cameroun Central (Rhythm Section International)
03. William Onyeabor – The Way To Win Your Love (Luaka Bop)
04. Nazan Soray – Halhal (Öncü)
05. Eddie C – When The Wind Blows (Red Motorbike)
06. Intrinsic Trance – Hey Policeman! (Philips)
07. Dexter Wanswell – Life On Mars (Philadelphia International Records)
08. Double Vision – Clock On The Wall (Profile Records)
09. Al Dobson Jr. – Santiago Black (Ptaki Version)
10. Da Rebels – House Nation Under A Groove (Ugly Music)
11. Esp – It’s You (Radical Records)
12. Luv Jam – Quip22 (Phonica White)
13. I:Cube – 123Bpm (Versatile Records)
14. Cloudface – Reduction (Moodhut)
15. Al Dobson Jr. – Babai (Bzp 45Rpm Edit) (Rhythm Section)

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!