Hyp 167: Seven Davis Jr

Hyp 167: Seven Davis Jr

Whilst FunkinEven is certainly speaking with no little bias when he describes Davis as, ‘the new Prince’, listening to the material from him so far, and his upcoming release for FunkinEven’s Apron Records, the sense that something special afoot is nigh on inescapable. Devoid of any kind of post-production sheen, whilst also completely uncontrived, there is a pretty strong feeling that Davis is ‘the real deal’. We were understandably delighted then, when the chance came up for us to host the first ever official mix from Seven Davis Jr.

A melange of casually blended Jazz, Soul, Acid, Funk and House, Hyp 167 is a nice introduction from a man who will undoubtedly be kicking up a fuss at a festival near you this summer.  You can stream or download it below – head here read a little breakdown on seven of the tunes featured in the mix, from the man himself.

Stream below, or click on the player for the download.

1. SDJR- Glory Days – Interlude (Unreleased)
2. SDJR – Celebrations (Live Recording)
3. Prince – So High (Secret Mixes & Fixes)
4. Chaka Khan – Pass It On
5. Thundercat – Oh Shiet It’s X
6. The Time – 777 – 9311
7. Slave – Watching You
8. Funkineven – Coke
9. Peven Everett ft Billie Jewel – Music
10. SDJR – Moving Forward – Interlude (Unreleased)
11. Markus Nikoali – Bushes
12. Shash ‘U – Likes
13. Taylor Mc Ferrin ft TK Wonder- Celebrity
14. Ossie ft Tilz – Ignore You
15. Jay Simon – Faith
16. SDJR – Transitions – Interlude (Unreleased)
17. Jamiroquai – She’s A Fast Persuader
18. Cravo e Canela – Estatutos Da Gafieira
19. Kutmah – Untitled 13
20. Theophilus London- No Particular One
21. Stevie Wonder – Don’t You Worry Bout A Thing (Live Recording 1974)
22. Wings – Don’t Say Goodnight
23. SDJR – Thanks (Live Recording)
24. Osunlade – Luna Moth

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!