Hyp 130: Tuesday Born

Hyp 130: Tuesday Born

The 21-year old Londoner delivers 40 minutes of soul-drenched electronic delights on Hyp Mix 130.

Tuesday Born is Gabriel Benn, a jazz-based pianist, vocalist, producer and one half of duo The Busy Twist, born in London and based in Sheffield but with a very global perspective on music. His moniker is borrowed from the naming traditions of Ghana, a country he has visited 7 times since 2009 and one whose musical nuances now resonate throughout his own work. Having also spent time in Bogota, Colombia over the past year, Benn draws on influences from the traditional and modern realms of both Latin and African music, inflecting them through an ear equally well trained on the contemporary themes of UK electronic music.

Making his debut in early 2012 via his own digital outlet The People’s Ear, Benn was subsequently snapped up by London imprint Audio Doughnuts. His recent EP ‘Singing in the Dark’ received love from Gilles Peterson on his BBC Radio 6 show whilst current single ‘Wake’ features remix action from Two Inch Punch and Pàle. Tuesday Born steps up for Hyp Mix 130 with a mix that reflects his recent expeditions into warm, soulful and vocal electronica and a tracklist that boasts some of the chief proponents of the sound, including James Blake, Mala, Floating Points, Lapalux and Bonobo.

Stream below, or click on the player for the download.

01. James Blake – Life Round Here
02. 2morrow’s Vitory – Lift Off
03. Catching Flies – Ghosts
04. Floating Points – Farukx
05. Mala – Noches Suenos
06. Schlomo – Wen Uuu (Teebs Remix)
07. Gang Colours – I don’t Want You Calling
08. Lapulux – One Thing
09. Bonobo – Don’t Wait
10. Dam Funk – One Less Day
11. Floating Points – Mind
12. MeLo-X & Cheri Coke – The Interlude (Tuesday Born remix)
13. Anushka – Tired & Tried
14. James Blake – Digital Lion

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!