Hyp 116: Max Anushka

Hyp 116: Max Anushka

Drawing on the UK’s rich heritage of scattered snares, sub-low rumble and breakbeat culture in its myriad forms, Max has the innate ability to create urgent, compulsively danceable ‘riddims’; marrying swaggering, boisterous drums and melodic hooks with a refreshing futurism, whilst simultaneously paying homage to historic melting pots of innovation such as Detroit, Chicago and London.

Brighton-based Yorkshireman Max Wheeler is one name currently making some real headway in house/bass/whatever circles, as his take on the current sound reels in a dirge of production experience from his days making hip-hop as part of the Dirty Diggers collective, or his journey into the realm of grime and all it’s myriad offshoots. His work as Anushka – alongside fellow Brighton resident Victoria Port – has been attracting a lot of attention recently, with a certain Mr Peterson championing their sumptuous strain of future-soul on his BBC 6 Music radio show. Keep your eyes and ears peeled for a big Anushka announcement in the coming weeks.

Hyp 116 journeys from low-slung soul, through to upfront bass experiments, featuring a brand new collaboration between Throwing Snow and his brother (Tones) as Vellico, KiNK, South London Ordnance, Christian Loeffler and more.

Stream below, or click on the player for the download.

01. Paolo Rocco – Move Body, Move Forward
02. Rachel Row – Follow The Step (KiNK Mix 2)
03. Dauwd – Aqueous
04. Christian Loeffler – Tausend
05. Guy Andrews – Darj (Funk D’Void Edit)
06. Midland – A. Trace
07. A1 Bassine – Trip Over
08. Tones – Thinking About You
09. Anushka – Yes Guess
10. South London Ordnance – Daphne
11. Rageous Projecting Kevin Aviance – Cunty [The Feeling] (Party Mix)
12. Bicep – Vision of Love
13. Shadow Child – So High (Hot Since 82 Remix)
14. Vellico – Pennines

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!