Hyp 081: Planas

Hyp 081: Planas

Planas AKA Toby Davies’ music has been cranking up momentum recently with a string of sublime releases on Ranking Records (which he co-owns) and Immerse, garnering DJ support from a range of influential selectors including Mary Anne Hobbs, Gilles Peterson, Pearson Sound, Mr Scruff, DJ Nonames and DJ Q.

It may come as no surprise that his vivid take on dubstep and surrounding areas has sparked interest, considering that Davies has either produced, engineered or written songs with Dionne Bromfield, Binky Griptite of The Dap Kings, Tim Hutton (The Prodigy/Groove Armada) and Kim BurseBeyonce’s creative director. He also co-produced and recorded vocals for tracks on the recent L-Vis 1990 album, ‘Neon Dreams’ and is a core member of Gentleman’s Dub Club. We’re really looking forward to future output from this talented chap.

His Hyp mix provides us with innovative blend of bass and electronics featuring tracks from Pearson Sound, Busta Rhymes, Martyn, Author and a host of forthcoming Planas material and quirky bootlegs – don’t sleep…

Stream below, or click on the player for the download.

01. Untitled – Pearson Sound (Pearson Sound)
02. Son Of Thunder – Ruckspin, Quark & Planas (Unreleased)
03. Acid Jackson – Boddika
04. Omar – IllBlu (Unreleased)
05. Danger (Planas & Night Owl bootleg) – Ms Dynamite
06. The Witching Hour – Planas & Night Owl (Unreleased)
07. Gimme Some More – Busta Rhymes (Flipmode/Elektra Records)
08. Broken – Martyn (Revolver Records)
09. Breathtaking ft. Ed Thomas – Planas (Exceptional Records)
10. Together in the Dust – Icicle (Shogun Audio)
11. Mothership – Author (Tectonic)
12. Zulu – Planas (Ranking Records)
13. Play Doe – Joker & Rustie (Kapsize)
14. Oh ft. Ludacris (Planas bootleg) – Ciara
15. Surph – Rustie (Warp)
16. Better Days – Planas (Forthcoming “The Long Game”)
17. Wasabi Thunder – Planas (Forthcoming “The Long Game”)
18. Cry Wolf ft. Joe Lean – Planas (Forthcoming “The Long Game”)

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!