Hyp 067: Alexander Nut

Hyp 067: Alexander Nut

For Hyponik’s 67th mix, we call upon Eglo boss, soul boy and one of the UK’s deepest selectors, Alexander Nut.

Having first talked to the Rinse FM star about this mix well over a year ago, it’s a joy to to see it finally surface, just in time for Eglo Records third birthday at fabric on Thursday 8 March. Having asked the man to put together something a little different, he’s come correct with over 90 minutes of influences; from GZA to Goldie, Marvin Gaye to Massive Attack, it’s a trip through a real music fans background, and is joy to listen to.

Alexander Nut and Floating Points mark the 3rd birthday of their Eglo label with a super special midweek event featuring birthday guest Dez Andres (Slum Village/Mahogani Music). Floating Points premieres his brand new live show alongside performances from the Eglo Live Band featuring Fatima, Shuanise and Olivier DaySoul, Arp 101 (live) and DJ sets from Funkineven and Mr. Nut himself. You can purchase tickets direct from fabric, and the rest we’ll leave up to the man himself…

“It’s basically a mix of music that I was listening to as a child and throughout my teenage years. Simple stuff… I could do about 10 volumes of these. Curtis Mayfield and Hendrix were the first musicians I ever became obsessed with, I was probably around 9/10. By the time i hit my teens hip-hop took over, I remember on my 13th birthday going up town after school and buying Gang Starr’s ‘Hard To Earn’. That cassette is still my most holy possession. Sade and Marvin Gaye was stuff my mom used to listen to that I picked up… It ends with some of the first ‘dance’ music records that I got into. It’s like one of those tapes you’d make for a girl at school.”

Stream below, or just click on the player to download.

01. A Tribe called Quest – Excursions
02. Gang starr – Brainstorm
03. GZA – Investigative Reports
04. Redman – Can’t Wait
05. Nas – N.Y State Of Mind
06. Mobb Deep – Temperatures Rising
07. Group Home – 2 Thousand
08. D’Angelo – The Line
09. Massive Attack – Five Man Army
10. Roots Manuva – Baptism
11. Digable Planets – Dog It
12. Ol’ Dirty Bastard – Cuttin Heads
13. Curtis Mayfield – Doo Doo Wop Is Strong In Here
14. Marvin Gaye – Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holla)
15. Jimi Hendrix – Manic Depression
16. Outkast – Humble Mumble
17. Prince – Hot Thing
18. Zapp & Roger – So Ruff, So Tuff
19. Sade – Nothing Can Come Between Us
20. 4 Hero – Escape That
30. 4 Hero – Universal Love (Goldie Remix)
31. Goldie – Kemistry
32. 808 State – Pacific
33. Future Sound Of London – Papau New Guinea

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!