Zone Collective break down their second label compilation

More alien club interpretations from the Copenhagen punk outfit. 

Zone Collective are the music and arts collective that operate out of Copenhagan, Berlin, Glasgow and wherever their anarchic journey leads them.

Run by school mates Toby Ridler and Lorenzo Tebano, the label made heavy noise last year with a killer showcase of freakish dance music from their circle. Featuring the likes of Mun Sing, Kleft, Lord Real and Sue Zuki, the compilation bridged the gap between techno, noise and sound design, serving their vision of a bullshit free industry, where friends support friends and shared ideas build a lasting community.

One year on and they are back with a new presentation of sound. Expanding their circle with a fresh squad of experimental figures, they’ve more lately described their musical space as an experiment of futurist punk, noir acid pop and grime vapour, their ethos to operate however remains entirely the same.

With entries from alien producers like Kerley, Kinlaw, Gel, and Total Leatherette, the second compilation results in an equally strange and captivating take on contemporary electronic music as to the first. Read on as each artist describes the ideas behind their compositions.

1. Kerley – ‘Oblivious’

“Oblivious is a four minute long wait for a punchline, originally released as an single-track comedy dubplate in an addition of one for someone I rode Oblivion with. I haven’t been to Alton Towers in ages and I no longer tell jokes, so the song has now been been re-appropriated for Zone collective. It now exists as a melancholic reminder that theme parks are not always the answer, and that sounds are sometimes more at home amongst peers than wedged inbetween a book about art povera and a bottle of Wray and Nephews”

2. Gel – ‘Anneks’

“I composed Anneks in a small cabin in Northern Jutland. I used old samples I had recorded several years ago, and layered them with new recordings, and played around with it a lot, until I landed on the balance of darkness and brightness I was going for. Somewhat by accident the dark breathing voices came out of some old stuff, and gave the light fast beats a funny contrast. (I think of this part as a tripped out monastery chant). When I compose I like to play around with layers of beats going in and out shapes and grooves, and this track is no exception, it is build up around the displacement of beats and multiplicity of grooves. The end is thought as a deconstruction of the track, or uncovering of the layers bit by bit.”

3. Becoming Real – ‘Life is a Dark Room’

“Was listening to alot of SUNN O))) and thought I like this stuff, so I had some beers and fiddled around with some equipment and made some eski DOOM, I think the track is fun and hopefully upsetting in a lovely way and is a bit like if Wiley and Stephen O’malley had another child together it would sound like this”

4. Marcin Pietrowski – ‘GendySiv’

“01101101 01100001 01110010 01100011 01101001 01101110 00100000 01110000 01101001 01100101 01110100 01110010 01110101 01110011 01111010 01100101 01110111 01110011 01101011 01101001 00100000 00101000 01100010 01101111 01110010 01101110 00100000 00110001 00111001 00111000 00110100 00101001 00100000 01100001 00100000 01100011 01101111 01101101 01110000 01101111 01110011 01100101 01110010 00100000 01100001 01101110 01100100 00100000 01110010 01100101 01110011 01100101 01100001 01110010 01100011 01101000 01100101 01110010 00100000 01100010 01100001 01110011 01100101 01100100 00100000 01101001 01101110 00100000 01000101 01100100 01101001 01101110 01100010 01110101 01110010 01100111 01101000 00101110 00001101 00001010 00100000 00001101 00001010 00100000 00001101 00001010”

5. Kinlaw – ‘Cuttlers’

“While waiting for Boiler room to turn up at mine to film me in their ‘against the clock’ I stood poised in my studio, I say studio, I was stood by the back door in my kitchen, this is my studio, tentatively chain smoking rollies. I made this track. anxious of my upcoming “performance” I watched the tar-pooling in the garden flutter. They never showed up.”

6. Vid Edda – ‘xtool, multi, 04.17’

“The song is from our album Bergtal til Vingmal from 2017. Its chris’s favourite track.. I also like it. all the songs on this album is thought of as letters. Either recieved, opened and read or written, closed and send. This was the original thought. This is an image that was described during: Mythic creatures beating out bracelets and birdskin coveralls with magic hammers and rare metals, exploring the span from thought to idea, to physical object. Play with an immediate transition between these steps of creation. To expose the craft in an honest and straight forward sharing. And then on the other hand a less tangible sensation is equally present an idea taking form in a vague dream, in dwarfs forge… The connection to Zone is very appreciated friendships”

7. YOO 830 (Tarquin Manek) – ‘Strawberries in Sewing Needles’

“I made the track on the plane from Berlin to Australia. YOO 830 is the license plate of a car that tried to run me off the road, so i decided to start a project with that name rather than track down the driver. The title of the track Strawberries In Sewing Needles refers to a story that was in the news when I arrived back in Australia early September 2018. Someone was inserting sewing needles into strawberries and people were biting into them and getting hurt. Then it started happening more and more in different parts of the country as copy cats emerged…”

8. Total Leatherette – ‘Operation Spanner’

“We smashed this song together in Glasgow at the Green Door Studio, with some old fucked equipment, and our bare sweaty hands. We have known of Zone for a while and have done some mixes for there old Noods radio show.”

9. Robin Stewart (Giant Swan) – ‘Every Inch of Disney Leith’

“I made the track before I was asked to contribute and took the bones of it to make something I felt reflected my interpretation of ZONE – something aggressively itself. Being asked to join in with a group I’ve respected from afar, as well as giving a home to a track I’m into is a privilege and feels cool weird to be doing something under the wing of Don Becoming Real after first listening to their music as a stoned 18 year old.”

Zone Collective celebrate the release with a launch party at Mayhem / Copenhagen on March 22nd.

More info and tickets here.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!