The Range Signs To Domino For ‘Potential’

The Range – aka Brooklyn-based producer James Hinton – has signed to Domino for his second album Potential.

It’s the follow-up to his 2013 debut Nonfiction, and is reportedly influenced by Baltimore club, early ’00s grime and mid ’00s electronica.

Potential is based around a series of vocal samples plundered from the depths of YouTube. Hinton’s aim is to tell his own story alongside those of the people he sampled, focusing on coping with difficulty and vulnerability. A documentary – ‘Superimpose’ – explores the stories of these unknown artists in more depth, and will be released in the spring.

Speaking on Potential, Hinton says:

“I found each person by using a small set of search terms on YouTube. Each song is inextricably linked to the point in time that I came across each video. I endeavored to tie the songs of Potential together by telling my own story alongside the stories of the people I sampled. Every song tries to acknowledge a sense of vulnerability or difficulty in life, as well as an intense drive to cope with problems in ways that don’t drag you into the abyss.”

‘Florida’ is the first single to be taken from the album. You can listen to it below, and also check out a trailer for the documentary, as well as the album tracklist.

The Range is also playing a headline show at The Pickle Factory in London on March 9th.

Potential is out March 25 on Domino, pre-order it here. The deluxe double LP contains a bonus ‘Strings’ 12″ EP.

Featured image: Alexandra Gavillet 

Potential tracklist:

1. Regular

2. Copper Wire

3. Florida

4. Superimpose

5. Five Four

6. Falling Out of Phase

7. No Loss

8. Skeptical

9. Retune

10. So

11. 1804