dj pinch

Pinch Mans The Decks For FABRICLIVE 61

Tectonic Recordings boss and Bristol bass pioneer to mix the next instalment in the FABRICLIVE series.

It’s looking like Pinch, the man responsible for some of the finest dubstep anthems from the mid-noughties, is set to take his current show of form into the new year, as he mixes the next chapter in fabric’s eponymous FABRICLIVE series.

The man otherwise known as Rob Ellis has been responsible for some of the finest music made under the dubstep banner over the past 6 years or so, with his 2007 album debut ‘Underwater Dancehall’ being a true milestone in the genre’s development, and a series of 12’s like ‘War Dub’, ‘Punisher’ and ‘Qawwali’ showing off his unique production chops.

As Pinch explains, the mix was recorded purely on vinyl, and achieves a circularity in its bookend’s of Distal’s ‘Venom’; “I am a supporter of the sound of vinyl and the cultural associations I make with this format so it was important to me – even if I do ultimately end up abandoning my beloved format one day – to stick by my guns and record the mix like this. I also made the whole mix start and finish in the same spot – meaning that the entire DJ mix can work as a loop if you put it on repeat. I really like the idea of certain kinds of music existing in its own infinite context and setting up the mix to loop like that was playing entirely into that idea.”

‘FABRICLIVE 61: Pinch’ will be released via fabric records on January 16.

‘FABRICLIVE 61: Pinch Tracklist:’
01. Distal – Venom (Part 2) [Tectonic]
02. F – Slow Down [7even]
03. EQD – Equalized #005B [Equalized]
04. Henry & Louis feat. Prince Green – Love Like (Pinch Remix) [2 Kings]
05. Pinch & Shackleton – Rooms Within A Room [Honest Jon’s]
06. Deleted Scenes – Natural Law [Deleted Scenes]
07. Pinch & Quest – In Dreams [Tectonic]
08. Boddika & Joy Orbison – Swims [Swamp81]
09. DJ G – Uncertain [Tectonic]
10. Roly Porter – Hessra [Subtext]
11. Photek & Pinch – Acid Reign (Pinch’s Dubplate Version) [Photek Productions]
12. Pinch & Loefah – Broken [Tectonic]
13. Emika – Double Edge (Pinch Remix) [Ninja Tune]
14. Roska – 480 BC [Tectonic]
15. Addison Groove – This Is It VIP [Tectonic]
16. Goth Trad – Mach [Tectonic]
17. Distance – Blue Meanie [Chestplate]
18. Jakes – Get Serious [H.E.N.C.H.]
19. Jakes – A Case Of The Bleeps [H.E.N.C.H.]
20. OM Unit – Pressure [Tectonic]
21. Illum Sphere – Promise A Secret [Tectonic]
22. Distal – Venom (Part 1) [Tectonic]