Lead Photo Web Res

Oneohtrix Point Never Announces LP On Warp Records

The Brooklyn-based producer will make his Warp debut with the 10-track ‘R Plus Seven’.

Following up the recent rehaul of his 5xLP magnum opus ‘Rifts’, prolific Brooklynite Daniel Lopatin has announced signing to Warp Records under his Oneohtrix Point Never guise. The first album of new OPN material since 2011 will be a 10-tracker entitled ‘R Plus Seven’, dropping via Warp on September 30th. A press statement promises a release that is a “major departure from his previous work….disruptive and hypnotic in equal measure”.

It looks set to be an exciting chapter in Lopatin’s career, which has seen him reinvent the ambient synth sounds of new age and komische over the past five years with a trippy, visceral approach, released via a back catalogue of mini-albums, tapes and other oddities. His last album under the Oneohtrix Point Never moniker was 2011’s ‘Replica’ on his own Software Recordings, a project driven by tv commercial samples, and more recently he joined Canadian experimentalist Tim Hecker on the stunning freestyle compositions of the ‘Instrumental Tourist’.

Pre-order ‘R Plus Seven’ from Bleep here, and check some recent live OPN footage below.

‘R Plus Seven’ Tracklist:

01. Boring Angel
02. Americans
03. He She
04. Inside World
05. Zebra
06. Along
07. Problem Areas
08. Cryo
09. Still Life
10. Chrome Country