Rinse 18: Mark Radford

Mark Radford To Mix Rinse:18

London DJ brings the European house sound to Rinse’s scene-defining mix series.

The capital’s leading radio station (in our eyes anyway) Rinse FM, continue the development of their near-faultless compilation series with house DJ and (relatively) new name Mark Radford.

The London-based DJ, who only debuted his show on Rinse FM last April, is set to head up ‘Rinse:18’, bringing the flavours of deep, technoid house music to the ears of London’s urban music fans, as he runs through tracks from the likes of John Tejada, Steve Bug, Carl Craig, Alex Niggeman and Agoria, deftly soundtracking London’s current love affair with house music of all shades.

As the man himself states: “When I started playing this stuff, no-one else was really playing it, and people were turning their noses up at it,” says Mark of those earlier sets. “It wasn’t until they started coming to the clubs, hearing it and seeing what it was doing at the parties, that everyone started getting into it.”

Though not strictly true, Radford is certainly a fine example of how London’s youth, traditionally aligned with more ‘bass’ sounds, have been exploring the breadth of more traditional forms of house music following the emergence of UK funky back in 2008/9. You can check the full tracklist below, and the official release will be on February 12.

Rinse:18 – Mark Radford Tracklist:
01. Point of No Return – Alex Niggeman
02. Some People – Rekleiner
03. Sin City – Mark Henning
04. Dark Room (John Tejada Mix) – Max Cooper
05. Wet – Steve Bug
06. Speechless (Carl Craig Remix) – Agoria
07. In the Dark – James What
08. Over You (Wildcats Remix) – Lee Brink
09. Around (Subban Remix) – Noir & Haze
10. Girl You Know – No Artificial Colours
11. Bouyancy – Al Bassline
12. Voyage (Solomun Remix) – Tiger Stripes
13. Morning Caffeine – Martin Landsky
14. Morning Confessions – Lazaro Casanova