pasted image 0

Mark Pritchard announces Under The Sun for Warp

Warp will release his first solo album in 5 years, which features an appearance from Radiohead’s Thom Yorke.

Since his early days playing in West Country clubs alongside the likes Tom Middleton and Richard D James, Mark Pritchard has lent his name to an impressive number of solo and collaborative releases under an equally impressive number of aliases.

Having released a number of EPs in recent years, Pritchard’s latest album Under The Sun is a more subtle affair that’s been described as “designed to be listened to in one sitting”, and features collaborations from the likes of Radiohead’s Thom Yorke, Linda Perhacs and label-mate Bibio.

According to Warp:

Recalled memory is an important theme here and a sense of the English West Country of Pritchard’s youth echoes through the album. Certain musical moods recur, particularly a kind of tonality that he half-seriously refers to as ‘medieval’, a way with chords and melodies, and also a sense of storytelling, that most obviously comes through the psychedelic influences on the Thom Yorke and Linda Perhacs collaborations ‘Beautiful People’ and ‘You Wash my Soul’.”

Watch the video for lead track ‘Sad Alron’ and check out the album’s artwork and tracklist below:



01. ?
02. Give It Your Choir feat. Bibio
03. Infrared
04. Falling
05. Beautiful People feat. Thom Yorke
06. Where Do They Go, The Butterflies
07. Sad Alron
08. You Wash My Soul feat. Linda Perhacs
09. Cycles Of 9
10. Hi Red
11. Ems
12. The Blinds Cage feat. Beans
13. Dawn Of The North
14. Khufu
15. Rebel Angels
16. Under The Sun

Under The Sun is out May 13 on Warp on heavyweight vinyl, CD and digital formats.