J Dilla’s long lost vocal album is coming out in April

We first heard about the completion of The Diary back in 2013, but there was never any word of a release date… until now that is.

Initially intended for release in 2002, the album was shelved after Dilla began a creative renaissance in L.A. Now, The Diary has been painstakingly assembled from two-track mixdowns and multi-track masters discovered in Dilla’s archives after his death in 2006.

The album features two tracks previously released on a 12″ in 2013 – ‘The Anthem‘ and ‘Trucks‘, the latter an incredible Gary Numan flip – as well as the previously heard ‘Fuck the Police‘.

Along with bars from Dilla himself, the album also features vocals from Snoop Dogg, Bilal, Frank N’ Dank, Nottz and Boogie. Featured producers include Madlib, Pete Rock, House Shoes, Bink! and Karriem Riggins.

Check the full tracklist below, and listen to newly released opening track ‘The Introduction’:

The Diary is out April 15 via Pay Jay/Mass Appeal, pre-order here.

01 The Introduction
02 The Anthem (feat. Frank & Dank)
03 Fight Club (feat. Nottz & Boogie)
04 The Shining Pt. 1 (Diamonds) (feat. Kenny Wray)
05 The Shining Pt. 2 (Ice)
06 Trucks
07 Gangsta Boogie (feat. Snoop Dogg & Kokane)
08 Drive Me Wild
09 Give Them What They Want
10 The Creep (The O)
11 The Ex (feat. Bilal)
12 So Far
13 Fuck The Police
14 The Diary