Four Tet, John Talabot, Jamie xx And Koreless Soundtrack A Silent Film

The artists have been recruited to soundtrack London based Director Sofia Mattioli’s new film project

You may know Sofia Mattioli as the Director of Jamie xx’s ‘Sleep Sound‘ music video which was released in May this year. In that performance project, the London based director danced with members of Manchester’s Deaf Centre was prompted by an encounter with a deaf girl on a train who handed her a piece of paper saying that she could “feel the music” Mattioli had been listening to.

The concept of this new project titled “Continuum” is to explore a continuous relationship between music and silence and the blinding elements as the film will be rearranged to each the tracks, as Mattioli’s reception of colour, movement and shape. The two minute silent video, which was shot on an iPhone, proceeds with a silhouetted figure dancing in a circle. Artists Four Tet, John Talabot Jamie xx and Koreless will soon offer their own sonic interpretations of the film. The music and the four final versions of the film which form a collaboration with Mattioli’s childhood friend and artist Rebecca Salvadori, will be unveiled at this weekends III Points Festival in Miami where Sofia will take part in a Q&A hosted by Nowness.

You can stream the silent film below 

(via Nowness)