etienne de crecy

Étienne De Crécy Brings In De La Soul For New Album

The former Motorbass man is set to return with his fourth album in January of next year.

First coming to prominence as one of Motorbass alongside Cassius’ Philip Zdar, Étienne de Crécy was one of the earliest proponents of the ‘French Touch’ sound that would go on to dominate electronic music in the 90’s. He went solo in 1996 to drop his debut album, ‘Super Discount’. A ‘fictitious compilation’ album, the record was one of the era’s commercial and critical peaks – shifting over 200,000 copies in France. He would go on to drop ‘Tempovision’ and ‘Super Discount 2’ – as well as honing his spectacular ‘Beats’n’Cubes’ live show.

19th January 2015 will see Étienne de Crécy return to his ‘Super Discount’ series for the third time, more than a decade since the last installment. Promising to be a fusion of the funky stylings of the first edition and the synth led Techno of the second, ‘Super Discount 3’ finds Étienne de Crécy working with a host of vocalists on nearly all of the album’s tracks – including Pos and Dave of De La Soul on, ‘WTF’.

Below you can stream ‘You’, from the record – an uptempo piece of retrofitted synth pop, that features the vocal stylings of Cults’ Madeline Follin’.


1. ‘Night (Cut The Crap)’
2. ‘You’ ft. Madeline Follin (Cults)
3. ‘WTF’ ft. Pos & Dave (De La Soul)
4. ‘Hashtag My Ass’
5. ‘Smile’ ft. Alex Gopher
6. ‘Sunset’ ft. Tom Burke (Citizens!)
7. ‘Amazing’ ft. Julien Delfaud
8. ‘Follow’ ft. Kilo Kish
9. ‘Love’
10. ‘Family’ ft. Baxter Dury
11. ‘WTF (beta instrumental)’ (iTunes bonus)
12. ‘Sunset (beta instrumental)’ (iTunes bonus)

‘Super Discount 3’ is out 19th January on Pixadelic. Pre-order it here.