Deadboy Returns To Numbers With The ‘Blaquewerk’ EP

A long overdue return to releasing music for Deadboy.

Glasgow’s Numbers have been behind some of the most high-profile events of the last couple of years, not to mention the Pleasure Principle festival they’re curating this April. As a label, you sometimes forget the size of some of the records they’re responsible for. They’re behind Mosca‘s hit 12″ ‘Bax’/’Done Me Wrong’, Jamie XX‘s ‘Far Nearer’, SBTRKT & Jessie Ware‘s collaboration and material from the likes of Slackk, Randomer, Redinho, Untold, Roska, GoldFFinch and Deadboy himself.

Deadboy‘s handful of releases so far have come twice via Numbers and via Well Rounded. He’s built up a reputation based on the quality, as opposed to quantity, of his output so far, his limitless DJ sets and radio shows. This EP clearly marks a development in his production since 2011’s ‘Here’ 12″, and the addition of his own vocals to the process. ‘Blaquewerk’ is concoction of both classic and contemporary house sounds, delivered with a potent lick of dark garage, and in the final track ‘Nova’, a conscious nod to jungle. A quality first release of Numbers’ 10th anniversary year.

Buy digital and vinyl from Mrch 25.

Deadboy ‘Blaquewerk’ EP full tracklisting:
1 – On Your Mind
2 – Geek’d Up
3 – Black Reign
4 – Nova