Boards Of Canada Return With New Album ‘Tomorrow’s Harvest’

The illusive Scottish duo have confirmed the release of their first album in eight years.

The music blogosphere went into overdrive yesterday over the announcement that Boards of Canada would be releasing their fourth album on June 10th, once again via Warp Records. ‘Tomorrow’s Harvest’ is a long-awaited return from the sibling duo of Mike and Marcus Sandison, following 2005’s ‘The Campfire Headphase’ and the 2006 ‘Trans Canada Highway’ EP. They remain hugely influential in contemporary electronic music, and one of the scene’s great enigmas.

The confirmation of the new 17-track LP’s release date followed a mysterious week-long ‘treasure hunt’, which began on Record Store Day with reports of several BOC 12″ singles turning up in stores around the world, containing unheard music and numerical codes. More elaborate clues followed, with fans discovering codes hidden on YouTube, SoundCloud, the Boards of Canada ‘Twoism’ message board, announcements on BBC Radio 1 and NPR Radio, and an advert on Cartoon Network. The detective work culminated with the mysterious Cosecha-Transmisiones.com website appearing and code-crackers finally unlocking a transmission video with release info and a link to pre-order the album from Bleep. You can watch the ‘Tomorrow’s Harvest’ transmission video below, and check the full album tracklist.

01 Gemini
02 Reach for the Dead
03 White Cyclosa
04 Jacquard Causeway
05 Telepath
06 Cold Earth
07 Transmisiones Ferox
08 Sick Times
09 Collapse
10 Palace Posy
11 Split Your Infinites
12 Uritual
13 Nothing Is Real
14 Sundown
15 New Seeds
16 Come to Dust
17 Semena Mertvykh