aphex syro

Aphex Twin Reveals New Album Via Deep Web

Following a series of publicity stunts last weekend, Richard D. James has apparently revealed the tracklist and title of his new album.  

Never one to play by the rules, James began what appeared to be a marketing campaign for the new record by flying a blimp over East London’s Oval Space with his logo and ‘2014’ emblazoned on the side, and spray painting his logo outside New York’s Radio City Music Hall. Its his latest actions that will finally send the rumor mill into overdrive though, as today saw him tweet a link from his verified account – the first time he’s posted from there in over two years. The ‘.onion’ extension at the end of the link, is connected to a proxy browser and is generally used for accessing what is commonly known as the deep web. Thankfully someone has already gone to the liberty of navigating their way to the link’s destination, and shared the results with the world.

Featuring the above photo, the link also features the below list, which most people are assuming to be a track list. The ‘track names’ appear alongside numbers which would appear to be BPM’s, whilst the title is believed to be ‘SYRO’. Things are rarely straightforward with anything James does, but fans can now reasonably expect that a follow up to his last album 2001’s ‘Drukqs’ at some point this year.

aphex syro 2

01. minipops 67 (source field mix)
02. XMAS_EVET10 (thanaton3 mix)
03. produk 29
04. 4 bit 9d api+e+6
05. 180db_
06. CIRCLONT6A (syrobonkus mix)
07. fz pseudotimestretch+e+3
08. CIRCLONT14 (shrymoming mix)
09. syro u473t8+e (piezoluminescence mix)
10. PAPAT4 (pineal mix)
11. s950tx16wasr10 (earth portal mix)
12. aisatsana