Actress Plans Follow Up to Forthcoming ‘R.I.P’

London’s elusive producer, Actress, reportedly has a second album in the works (via FACT).

In a rare interview with The Stool Pigeon, Actress, aka Darren Cunningham, revealed hopeful plans to release ‘Ghettoville’ in July. The Werk Discs boss has said the record will feature themes of “fear, loss, death, spirituality, sin, repentance, magic and a sense of black art.” Traits also attributable to his last album on Honest Jon’s, 2010’s exceptional Splazsh, and presumably also to next month’s album R.I.P.

Werk Discs has been quiet in terms of releases over the past couple of years but Ghettoville will be part of a new drive to increase output. Actress said, in the same interview…

“We haven’t released anything for a good while now, because (a) we were changing distribution, (b) I was getting caught up in Splazsh, and also for me personally I’d been doing the label by myself for five years, running the label and making music at the same time, so it just felt like the right time just to give it a breather and see what’s going on, see where people’s heads are at… And in that period of time music’s actually changed quite a lot, you’ve got labels like Tri Angle, Hippos In Tanks… It’s interesting when you take step back to view the scene as a whole, and how things are moving. You learn a few lessons.”

“It’s all about the next phase now really, so of course there’s new music, but we’ve never been a label that’s released a huge amount of records. [There’ll be] Ghettoville, Lukid, and a couple of new artists. We’ve got a young lad from Wolverhampton who’s gonna be doing something, and a girl in Athens we’re gonna be doing something with.”

See artwork and full tracklist for R.I.P below, set for release on April 20.

Actress – ‘R.I.P.’ Tracklist:
01. R.I.P.
02. Ascending
03. Holy Water
04. Marble Plexus
05. Uriel’s Black Harp
06. Jardin
07. Serpent
08. Shadow From Tartarus
09. Tree Of Knowledge
10. Raven
11. Glint
12. Caves Of Paradise
13. The Lord’s Graffiti
15. N.E.W.