Re-Issues of the Month: August

We’ve listed some of the rarest and grooviest re-presses from the last month to save you some digging…

Our expert crate-diggers have hand picked some rare re-releases from the month of August. Some of these you might not have heard of, others you just might not have wanted to pay crazy Discogs prices for. All bases covered from 70s Afro-Disco to 90s Deep House…

Bileo – ‘You Can Win’

Rare Disco 7” from the late 70s gets a re-issue. ‘You Can Win’ might sound familiar from Motor City Drum Ensemble’s recent Boiler Room mix at Dekmantel. Along with ‘Let’s go’ on the reverse, this is a super Disco reissue from Athens of the North.

Teaspoon & The Waves – ‘Oh Yeah Soweto’

Taken from Sofrito’s first Super Singles release, ‘Oh Yeh Soweto’ is a cheeky take on Lamont Dozier’s ‘Going Back To My Roots’. Led by alto player Teaspoon Ndelu, the band laid down their Disco/Funk in the 80s and have now been shown new light by Sofrito, who first pressed this re-issue four years ago.

Split Decision Band – ‘Watchin’ Out’

Super rare funky Disco from the late 70s. This elusive 7” has been sought after for years (usually going for big prices) but is now readily available thanks again to Athens of the North who have been doing some fantastic re-issues of late.

Malinga Five ‎– ‘Kaloule Woman’

Taken from the Rock Africa album, which recently got a repress, almost 40 years after it was first released. The group was made up of musicians from Africa, the Caribbean and France and their sound was really groovy Afro-Funk. ‘Kaloule Woman’ is one of the album’s highlights.

Buari – ‘I’m Ready’

Solid re-issues of two great tracks from Sidiku Buari of Ghana. A rare release from the late 70s, now available in its original Makossa International Records format once again. ‘I’m Ready’ is solid, driving Afro-Disco at its finest, packed full of string runs, brass shots and synth licks.

Sound Source – ‘Waterfall (All Weather Mix)’

Greek label Echovelt’s second reissue comes in the form of Wayne Gardiner’s Sound Source alias. The A Naked Theme EP is a mix of tracks from a couple of Sound Source EPs that came out in the early 90’s, courtesy of Right Area Records. ‘Waterfall (All Weather Mix’ is a highlight, re-mastered from tape over twenty years since its original release.

DJ Qu ‎– Party People Clap (Levon Vincent Remix)

First released in 2009, this double 12” EP has been going for far too much on Discogs, and has been much in need of the repress it’s just received from Deconstruct. Levon Vincent’s remix is a solid transformation of DJ Qu’s original, whilst the other two remixes from Anthony Parasole & Fred P and Jus Ed are equally interesting.