coyote kings

First Listen: Various – ‘Coyote Kings’ (Coyote)

We’ve got three top notch new Grime tracks, from the forthcoming ‘Coyote Kings’ compilation on Coyote Records, for your listening pleasure today. 

10 tracks long, ‘Coyote Kings’ rounds off a strong year from the South London label that has played an integral part in the much talked about Grime renaissance, retaining the traditional vestiges of the genre whilst simultaneously sounding fresh in approach and execution. Embodying these qualities are the three tracks we have available to stream below from Annoy, Chemist and Notion. Annoy’s ‘Fort’ sees an icy violin loop riding the beat to menacing effect, whilst Chemist’s ‘Hoodrat’ takes a more upfront approach with gunshot snares and hyperactive synths. Notion’s ‘In The Corner’ begins in restrained fashion, before its sub heavy lead line is let loose to wreak havoc. Due to be released 30th December alongside tracks from Spokes, P Jam and former Hyp mix contributor, OH91, you can check out the tracklist for Coyote Kings below, where you can also stream the tracks from Annoy, Chemist and Notion.

Annoy – Fort
Arctic – The Sicilian
Checan – Don’t Know What To Do
Chemist – Hoodrat
Jon Deville – Crossed Eyes
Notion – In The Corner
OH91 – Stealth VIP
P Jam – Be Yourself
Spare – Katana
Spokes – Pigs Riddim