First Listen: Torus – ‘Tribes’ (Sonic Router)

We’ve got an exclusive stream of ‘Tribes’ by Dutch producer Torus ahead of its release on Sonic Router next Monday 18th November.

The track is one of 8 featured on the ‘Feeel’ EP and sees the producer returning to the label on which he made his debut last year. The blissed out beats of his debut are present here again, but what is also noticeable is a subtle yet distinct focus on the dancefloor in certain tracks. ‘Tribes’, which you can listen to below, shows the young Dutchman laying on heavy swathes of punishing distorted sub in a manner not dissimilar to a grimier version of FlyLo’s ‘Sultan’s Request’. Thanks to the addition of rickety, organic percussion, intermittent siren/lazer bursts and that aforementioned monster bass, Torus crafts a club track that is equal parts intelligent and effective. The EP, which includes a whole myriad of delights in addition to ‘Tribes’ can be pre-ordered here ahead of its release next Monday, whilst in the meantime you can check out the artwork and tracklist below.

Torus – ‘Feeel’ EP (Sonic Router)


1. Backyard
2. Feeel*
3. Elsewhere
4. Untitled*
5. Chopsticks
6. Tribes
7. Untitled (Kid Simpl Remix)
8. Chopsticks (Rawdee Remix)
*denotes track included on 7″ vinyl.